This year’s international jury!

The international jury for the 9th edition of Denmark’s leading fiction film festival, CPH PIX, has been set. This year it consists of American director Matt Porterfield, Greek producer Amanda Livanou and Macedonian actress and producer Labina Mitevska.

The panel awards the winner of the festival’s main competition for first-time filmmakers New Talent Grand PIX that comes with a 6,000€ cash prize.


Matt Porterfield

Born in Baltimore, USA.

Matt Porterfield has written and directed ‘Hamilton’ (2006), ‘Putty Hill’ (PIX’11), ‘I Used To Be Darker’ (PIX’13), and latest ‘Sollers Point’ (PIX’17). His work has been screened on several filmfestivals and exhibitions; Sundance, The Berlinale and SXSW among others. The short film ‘Take What You Can Carry’ premiered in one of the competitions of The Berlinale in 2015. Porterfield has also worked as a producer and for the last 10 years he has teached in Film Production and Film theory at John Hopkins University.


Amanda Livanou

Born in Athens, Greece.

Amanda works as a producer in her own production company Neda Film. She is born in Athens and studied at London School of Economics. She has worked in one of the oldest production companies in Athens, Filmiki Company, and as a counselor for the Greek Film center. For the last 12 years she has worked independently as a producer and co-producer on 15 feature films and documentaries, among others ‘Park’ by Sofia Exarchou, which CPH PIX presented last year. Before that she produced ‘L’, which competed in PIX’12.


Labina Mitevska

Born in Skopje, Macedonia.

Labina is an actress and producer from Macedonia. Her career started when she was a teenager and starred in ‘Before the Rain’. Later on she started a cooperation with Michael Winterbottom in ‘Welcome to Sarajevo’ and ‘I Want You’. In 2001 she co-founded the production company ‘SISTERS AND BROTHER MITEVSKI’. She has co-produced Christi Puiu’s ‘Sieranevada’ and ‘Nightlife’ by Damjan Kozole, was producer on the Move in Cannes’14 and is EAVE-alumna.


The nominated for New Talent Grand PIX are:
Carla Simón (ES) – ‘Sommeren 1993’
Janicza Bravo (US) – ‘Lemon’
Léonor Serraille (FR) – ‘Montparnasse Bienvenue’
Xavier Legrand (FR) – ‘Custody’
Rungano Nyoni UK/ZM) – ‘I Am Not A Witch’
Cecilia Atán og Valeria Pivato (AR) – ‘The Desert Bride’
Hlynur Pálmason (IS) – ‘Winter Brothers’
Alireza Khatami (IR) – ‘Oblivion Verses’
Pedro Pinho (PT) – ‘The Nothing Factory’
Ivana Mladenovic (RS) – ‘Soldiers. Story From Ferentari’

Read about all of the nominated films here.